The Story of Mr. Z, Occupy Panama City

“I choose to be known as Mr.Z.  Z is for Zucotti, the birthplace of the Occupy movement. I love the spirit of this movement and how they speak truth to power. I am proud to represent and fight for the nameless and faceless however I can. I have a lot of compassion for the poor, people that don’t have lobbyists. I jumped at the chance to help any way that I could, because I personally identify with the 99% and I am very passionate about the issue of income inequality and corporate greed during the worst economic times since the Great Depression.

I do this anonymously to protect my family from reprisals. I confused the local media that contacted me before the October 15th global protests when I told them we are a leaderless movement, that I’m not out for fame and my responsibility is to our members, not them. They wouldn’t quote me because of “corporate policy”. Whatever. I see myself as a middle-of-the-road American who cares about the future of this country and our planet.
I am a local white male. I have lived in Panama City ( an ultraconservative part of northwest Florida) for over 20 years. I am in my mid-30’s and I don’t think I’ve ever had a good paying job working in the local tourist-based economy. The 2010 BP oil spill didn’t help at all either. Right now I am unemployed with no car, have only an EBT card to my name, and I still owe close to $40,000 in student loans. I am scared for my future. I do this anonymously to protect my family from reprisals, because they struggle on little money themselves as well. From my point of view, we the 99% are all in this together, and we all have different roles to play. This is mine, so I try to do the best I can with what little I have.

I do NOT work for either the GOP or Democratic Party. I’m an independent, and I see myself as just an ordinary patriotic American who cares about our future. When I saw an Occupy Together group on meetup.com formed last October 8th, I knew it was time to help and this is what I was meant to do. ( http://www.meetup.com/occupytogether/Panama-City-FL/ )
I write a blog ( https://occupypanamacity.wordpress.com/ ) and run a Twitter feed ( http://twitter.com/#!/OccupyPC )but I do not speak for the group, despite what all the people sending me hate mail over the last several weeks believe. I’ve be called both a Nazi and a Communist, but to be honest I have never met anyone who was either. Stay strong occupiers, because this is just the beginning for us. I truly believe we can do great things together.”

Mr. Z
Occupy Panama City
#OccupyPC

One response to “The Story of Mr. Z, Occupy Panama City

  1. Mr.Z Nov. 30 7pm, Occupy PC we will be meeting at Gastons. Join us. We will finish watching Inside Job and discuss our goals and viisibility.